Caroline Krafft TSC Application - 2018-09-03

Name
Caroline Krafft (@elmps2018)

Organization
St. Catherine University

What contributions (e.g., issue triage, tech support, documentation, bug fixes) have you made to the ODK community?
The contributions I have made are primarily as a user with a lot of learned experience to share. My background is as an economist and survey researcher who had been working with household survey data for a number of years. I was initially involved with the paper versions of surveys, and then we made the switch to tablets. The first two projects we worked on (not using ODK) after switching to tablets had major programming problems.

After a couple times of supervising programming that never fully met our needs, I decided that I was just going to learn the programming myself, and so assembled a team at my university to learn the ODK2 tools. We work on very complex household surveys, so features like sub-forms were critical. We also are not developers, so the accessibility of the ODK2 tools (Excel! I know that!) was also very important. The first project we tackled was a ~2000 variable household survey in Egypt that had 13 sub-forms and all sorts of other interesting complexities, so we learned a LOT! Fielding is just wrapping up now, and we are about to do another, similar, survey in Sudan in 2019.

With all this learned experience, I have tried to share what I know with folks trying to learn ODK2. I have created training materials for a two-day workshop that I then shared with folks on ODK Forum. I have also flagged and discussed problems that we ran in to in programming and implementation across the ODK2 tools. I work to answer questions about ODK2 on ODK Forum. I want to note I have not made these contributions on my own: My research lab team has been awesome help in generating these materials (thanks Team Awesome!).

How do you believe your contributions have benefited ODK?