Error configuring LDAP for ODK sync-endpoint

Hello all,
I am trying to get ODK Sync Endpoint installed and configured on a VM running Ubuntu 18.04. I am a relative newbie when it comes to Linux and a complete newbie with ODK and docker.

I’m following the instructions at ODK-X Sync Endpoint — ODK-X Docs
I’ve been unable to get any sort of GUI installed on this box, and tried to use elinks browser to interact with phpldapamin, but when I submitted the form to create an admin user for the Toolkit, it crashes with an HTTP 500 error. So now I am attempting to use the OpenLDAP command line utilities instead. But that also fails.
The documentation tells me to enter the following command to access the LDAP tools:
$ docker exec $(docker ps -f “label=com.docker.swarm.service.name=syncldap_ldap-service” --format ‘{{.ID}}’) LDAPTOOL ARGS
But when I do this I get the following error:
OCI runtime exec failed: exec failed: container_linux.go:345: starting container process caused “exec: "LDAPTOOL": executable file not found in $PATH”: unknown

To me this means there might be something wrong with the docker container, or maybe it wasn’t built? (but the documentation says it should be there). Or is maybe Docker swarm not running correctly?
Do I need to be running this in a different directory?

Has anyone else run into this issue?

Thanks in advance for any insights or a solution to this!

Hi,

For the HTTP 500, it is possible that elinks isn’t supported by phpLDAPAdmin. Have you tried a different browser? Perhaps a more common browser like Firefox or Chrome.

If you want to use the LDAP command line tools,

docker exec $(docker ps -f "label=com.docker.swarm.service.name=syncldap_ldap-service" --format '{{.ID}}') LDAPTOOL ARGS

You need to replace LDAPTOOL with the tool you want, for example ldapsearch. And replace ARGS with the necessary arguments.