How can I design an ODK2 form for longitudinal tree study?

Greetings to ODK2 users. I am a novice starting to design XLSforms for ODK2. I’ll provide a little background on my project first, which hopefully will give some context to my questions (at the end). Apologies in advance for the length of this, and many thanks in advance for any advice you can provide.

What is the problem? Please be detailed.
XLSform design

What ODK tool and version are you using? And on what device and operating system version?
ODK2 on Samsung TabActive

What steps can we take to reproduce the problem?
Background: Our project is a longitudinal (long-term) study of trees in research plots. We currently use a proprietary (not open source) mobile application for data collection, and it works well, but is out of date and has become prohibitively expensive to update. Thus the switch to ODK2! I’m hoping to develop a workflow structure in ODK2 that is similar to what we developed in the proprietary application.

Basic workflow

1. Main menu: select the research plot from a lookup list of about 30 sites (choices). Each site has anywhere from 100 to 4000 trees, so across 30 sites there are many thousands of trees in the database. Once the specific plot is selected, the user will have multiple options (sub-menus?):
    a. Measure a tagged tree
    b. Edit measurement data
    c. Generate a list of trees not measured (missing trees)
    d. Add a new tree (“ingrowth”)
    e. Edit ingrowth data
    f. Edit tree mortality data
    g. Enter notes about study site
    h. Edit notes about study site

2. Within the sub-menu “Measure a tagged tree” the form should prompt the user to enter a tree tag number (TreeID). Look up that tag number using the pulldata function to populate several fields on the form so the user can see the previous measurement data (e.g., tree diameter, species, stem condition).