Sync-endpoint-docker-swarm build failure

Hi, i am new in odk-x. I try to install sync-endpoint but i get this error.

kind help please! i need to resolve it. Thank you

Hi @ornich!

Can you please tell us a bit more about your setup, and what steps you took before this error? You may find the documentation on setup here Setup ODK-X Sync Endpoint with Cloud Services — ODK-X Docs helpful if you haven’t reviewed it already, or setup videos on our YouTube channel ODK-X Team - YouTube

@elmps2018 hi thank you for the reply, i Setup ODK-X Sync Endpoint Manually OS: ubuntu 22.04. I use this documentation Setup ODK-X Sync Endpoint Manually — ODK-X Docs

Hi @ornich! Thanks for these details. Could you tell us which steps you had completed and which one you were trying when you got this error?

I am not sure we have tested the recent upgrades to ubuntu yet with the older Tomcat. You might want to try ubuntu 18.

We need to do a maintence release and move all the versions up. It is on the to do list.

1 Like

@elmps2018 i get this error when i setup sync-endpoint Manually following the steps:
1)cd sync-endpoint
2)mvn clean install

Hello,
Early this year, I installed sync-endpoint for testing on Ubuntu 18.04, 20.04, and even 21.04, and the sync-endpoint build went well. However, I recently got a new server and intended to deploy odk-x for production, however sync-endpoint build fails even with Ubuntu 18.04. I’ve attached the installation logs for your inspection.

Hello,
There appears to be an error in the Dockerfile (it is missing the “unzip” command).
I will create a pull request to fix the problem , in the mean time you can fix it by installing it this way:

1: Edit the dockerfile by typing:
$ nano ~/sync-endpoint/sync-endpoint-docker-swarm/Dockerfile
2: Add this line 8 (before the other RUN command):
RUN apt-get update && apt-get install unzip
3: Save and exit, then rerun the mvn clean install command

Good luck and Let me know if it doesn’t work out :slight_smile: